Game of Thrones Book Review

Title: A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1)
Author: George R.R Martin
Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars
Recommended if you like: Fantasy, Adventures, J.R.R Tolkien
Published: August 2005 by Bantam Spectra (first published August 6th 1996)
Pages:835
got
***Spoilers***

First, I have to admit that I really put off reading this book. I’ve had it on my self for about a year now, where it sat watching me. I put it off because it looked so imposing, I mean it’s 800 pages with small print. Truthfully, the only reason I finally picked it up is because I really wanted to watch the show, but I refuse to watch anything based on a book before reading it first.

At first it was very confusing with all different names and point of views, but after a few chapters it became easier to keep up with. My immediate favorite characters were Bran, Tyrion, and Daenerys. I was shocked when they threw Bran out of a window, but otherwise it was mildly predictable for me. I’m enjoyed it though, and I wasn’t expecting to since I’m not usually into this type of fantasy book, but the descriptions and characters created a world that was hard to escape.  As went on I began to like Edward as a father(and husband) and liked that he let Arya learn to use a sword. It’s not something I expect from this time period and I thought that was really cool.

As for how the book ended, I was shocked.  I didn’t like Tyrion as time went by. I liked him so much at first, but as I got further into the book he seemed to be bitter and a little cruel. I understand that he had gone through some things, but I don’t think that makes up for how he is at the end. I was so proud of how Edward Stark’s children grew up through out the book. I’m not going to say who dies, so that I don’t completely spoil the book for anyone, but I was really saddened by one of the characters who was killed. I know the George R.R Martin is know for killing off characters, but it still hurt. And I still liked Daenerys at the end, and I felt bad for everything she had to go through. And I felt like the funeral at the end was epic and was a good way to close the book.

Overall, I thought the story was interesting and well thought out. It was very detailed, and I’m not going to lie, I just finished the book less than an hour ago and I’ve already forgotten most of the house and knight’s names. But, for the most part I enjoyed how detailed it was. The only problem I had with it was that it made the book very long, and tedious to read. I got to the point where I couldn’t even be bothered to pick up the book and read, so I listen to the audio book for a part of it towards the end.

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars. I thought it was an epic adventure filled with kings, secrets, and a lot of backstabbing haha. Be warned, it’s a large book and not a quick read, but it’s well worth it. I would have given it 5 stars if I hadn’t felt slightly bored by end. the end is by now means boring, but the book does tend to drag on a bit I think in the last 200 pages.

Tell me what you think about it if you’ve read it. Did like it, why or why not? And do you think the show does it justice? I look forward to hearing your thoughts and don’t forget to like and share this if you found it helpful!

2 thoughts on “Game of Thrones Book Review

  1. the show’s a blast. takes the high points and takes out the fluff. You’ll want to reread the last 200 pages if you skipped any (at some later date), though…

Leave a Reply

