Book Review

Inferno Book Review

Here’s my first post ever!!! I hope you like it 🙂

Title: Inferno

Author: Dan Brown (Robert Langdon #4)

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Recommended if you like: History, Fiction, Art, Dante, The Divine Comedy, Thrillers, Books that keep you on your toes

Published: May 14th 2013 by Doubleday

Number of Pages: 462

Wow, after reading mainly small young adult books that were more quick reads this book seemed like a monster. I was a little imitated to pick it up, but boy am I glad I did! This is the first Dan Brown book I’ve read, and I had very high expectations from watching both movies based on The Da Vinci Code and Angels & Demons.

The book begins in Florence where our main character, professor Langdon, wakes up in a hospital with no memory of how he ended up there. Quickly, the book picks up speed when a mysterious women appears with a gun and attempts to shoot him. A female doctor is able to act fast and get him out and together they must piece together fragments of his memory, which surface as terrifying dreamlike visions, and discover who is trying to kill him and why. The key is hidden in the world of Dante and his famous epic poem The Divine Comedy.

I personally love history, so I thoroughly enjoyed the background Dan Brown uses for Dante and all the references to art works and the destinations. He really makes the world of the book come alive for you. I also liked the main characters, which is nice in such a long complicated book. Robert Langdon is unique but also relatable, because he has flaws and silly quirks (like his love of his Micky mouse watch). He’s very smart, but not to the point where he’s not understandable. And the young doctor, named Sienna Brooks, is interesting and the reader gets to learn her story slowly through out the book.

The only real downfall of this book for me was that it tended to be a bit confusing, especially towards the end. I understand that he kept a lot of the characters mysterious so that you never knew who to trust or if they were a good guy or bad guy, but that also made it hard to follow the story a bit. Sometimes I was confused on who was talking or what was happening, however I was able to piece it together after some thought.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in it, but it’s not for those looking for a quick, easy read as it takes some thinking to understand what’s happening.

Here’s the link to the page on Goodreads for more information on the book:

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17212231-inferno

And here’s a link to the book on Amazon if you would like to check it out there:

http://www.amazon.com/Inferno-Dan-Brown/dp/0385537859/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1394728348&sr=8-1&keywords=inferno

Leave a Reply

