Uncategorized

10 Influencial Books

So, there is a tag going around YouTube called 10 Influential books started by ReadSusieRead, who adapted it from Facebook. I thought it would be fun to do it here too.

These are 10 books that have left some type of impact on me (in no particular order):

1. Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell: I began reading this book when I was 12 years old, 12 years old!!! Why did my middle school have this in their library? I don’t know, but I do know this was the first books that got me interested in historical fiction. I was living in Atlanta at the time, so it was fun to see names that I recognized.  It actually took me 2 years to finish it, it has over 1000 pages and that a lot! But I loved it, I loved the history, the love story, it’s so beautiful and tragic all at the same time. I feel like this is a story that will always be a classic.

2. Harry Potter and the Sorcerers Stone by J.K Rowling: I think this one needs no explanation 🙂

3. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak : The writing style of this book is what really made this an influential book for me. Plus, I love the idea of a book based on WWII from a German child’s perspective, it’s a fresh way of looking at it. And it’s a beautiful story of growing up during a time of war that will both warm and break your heart.

4. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova: I read this book last year and I wish it hadn’t taken me so long to read it. This is the perfect Dracula/vampire book out there, because it’s mature and more focused on the horror side than cheesy romance. I also enjoyed that the author went into different historical places. She was perfectly descriptive and kept me wanting more. Anyone who loves horror, thrillers, or historical fiction will love this book. This is also a book that is so good I hope one day they will make it into a movie.

5. In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin by Erik Larson: This is one of my favorite books ever and that says something because I’ve read 100s. This is such a fascinating read that lets reader into a different perspective of living in the Third Reich through the American embassy’s eyes. I learned a lot about Berlin during WWII I didn’t know before, but it was done in a really interesting way that kept me glued to the pages.

6. Scar Tissue by Anthony Kiedis: This is a memoir written by the lead singer of the Red Hot Chili Peppers. It’s definitely meant for mature audiences only.The Red Hot Chili Peppers is one of my favorite bands and so it was really fascinating to get behind the scenes insight into his life. I was surprised about a lot things he went through both with the band and on his own. I learned a lot about him and it made me respect him even more as an artist and a person.

7. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer: Looking back on it now, it’s not one of my favorite books, but when I was seventeen I loved it. And I owe this book a lot since it got me back into reading for fun. It’s one of the first books I lent to my friends, and as the other books came out we would read them together. It’s something we all shared and the books bring back a lot of happy memories for me. Also, no one can forget the marketing craze around the movies, as far as I can remember I hadn’t seen anything like that since Harry Potter.

8. Divergent by Veronica Roth: This book is getting a lot of attention right now, and I think it’s well deserved. The reason this book stuck out the most to me is the relationship between Tris and Four. This is the first book I’ve read where the relationship is realistic and healthy. Four pushes Tris to be better and supports her instead of either being possessive or simply protecting her. They also fight like normal couples, but in a healthy way. Plus, the world building in the book is amazing and the supporting characters are anything but forgettable. This is just a great book all around.

9. The Ludwig Conspiracy by Oliver Pötzsch: I first read this author when I read the book The Hangman’s Daughter, which I had actually downloaded for my honeymoon since we were going to Munich and the book is based on a town close to there. I ended up loving it, and also loving Munich. One of my favorite parts of my trip was seeing Neuschwanstein , a castle built by King Ludwig II. It was on a tour of this castle that I learned about King Ludwig II and his mysterious death. I was so interested in it that I searched online for a book about it and to my surprise this book popped up by Oliver Pötzsch. I was so excited I pre-ordered it immediately, and then read it within three days of getting it. I loved it so much, the characters, and his idea of what happened to the king is brilliant and really creative. It’s so imaginative and it was a lot of fun to go back and forth between modern day and when the King was alive. Anyone who’s into history, thrillers, or Bavaria would love this book.,

10. The Help by Kathryn Stockett: The reason this is on my list is because it was such an eye opener for me. As someone who lives in Mississippi, I’m well aware of our history. But, it’s different to read it and get a sense of what it was really like to live here in the 60s and what was expected of women and African Americans. The characters really brought this book to life and there are moments that are classic and that everyone will remember. Chocolate pie anyone? 😉

It was actually really hard to just pick 10, I’ve read so many books that made some sort of impact on me, but these are extra special. I hope you enjoyed this and I encourage you to do this as well. If you do, please tag me so I can see them, because I’m interested to see your choices.

 

1 thought on “10 Influencial Books”

Leave a Reply

