Book Review

Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) Book Review

Title:
Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2)

Author: Marissa Meyer

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Recommended if you like: Science Fiction, Fantasy, Fairy Tales Retelling, Adventure, Romance

Published: February 5th 2013 by Feiwel and Friends

Number of Pages: 454

IMG_1097

*Possible Spoilers*

After reading Cinder, the first book in the series, I was so excited to pick this book up. Cinder is one my new favorite books, so I expected a lot from Scarlet and it didn’t disappoint. It was just as full as adventure as the first one and Scarlet as a character was another strong leading lady who was easy to love.

Scarlet Benoit lives the simply life in Toulous France make deliveries for grandma’s farm. However, her grandmother has been missing for two weeks and Scarlet knows that there is foul play involved, her grandmother wouldn’t just leave for no reason. When she learns that a stranger named Wolf might have information about her grandmother’s disappearance she must push her mistrust of him aside and let him help her.

On the other side of the world in New Beijing Cinder attempts to break out of prison and lands in the cell of Carswell Thorne (or Captain Thorne as he prefers). He’s a very flirty American who agrees to help her escape if he can come with her. Together they unravel mysteries of Cinder’s past and encounter Scarlet and Wolf and discover Scarlet and Cinder share a past. Meanwhile, with Cinder missing Queen Levana becomes impatient and Prince Kai must make the ultimate decision to protect his country from Wolf like creatures by choosing to marry the cruel Queen Lavana or not from the moon.

Who’s afraid of the big, bad wolf? I loved this book! I love how Marissa Meyer is able to adapt these classic fairy tales into modern Science fiction adventures.  I loved how kick ass Scarlet was, I mean she even carried her own gun around. I also liked Wolf and how he kept you guessing on whose side he really was throughout most of book. They’re romance I thought was cute but not overwhelming. I also liked Captain Thorne, I thought he was cocky but also really helpfully and loyal to Cinder.

The only thing that bothered me about it was that it seemed more slow than the first book.  The story was good and kept me interested, but for some reason it was easier to put this book down and not pick it up for a few days, while I almost couldn’t put the first down. I also would have liked to learn more about the Queen in this book. It seems like we know a little bit of every character except her. But, I guess they will go into more detail about her in one next books, I hope.

I give this book 4 stars and I can’t wait to continue the series with Cress. I love this series with it’s strong female characters and the fact that it is more about the adventure and the mission, rather than mainly focusing on romance. I hope that if you haven’t already that you will give The Lunar Chronicles a read.

If you have already read this book or Cinder let me know what you think of it and the series in the comments below, I would love to know your thoughts!

Here’s the link to the page on Goodreads for more information on the book:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13206760-scarlet?from_search=true

And here’s a link to the book on Amazon if you would like to check it out there:

http://www.amazon.com/Scarlet-Lunar-Chronicles-Book-2/dp/1250007216/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1398204846&sr=1-1&keywords=scarlet+the+lunar+chronicles

Leave a Reply

