Book Review

Divergent Book Review

So, I recently finished reading the second book in this trilogy, Insurgent, and wanted to write a review it on when I realized it might be more helpful for me to a write a review for this book first.

Title: Divergent

Author: Veronica Roth

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Recommended if You Like: Science Fiction, Dystopia, Thrillers, Action, Romance, Young Adult

Published: February 28th 2012 by Katherine Tegen Books

Number of Pages: 487

pho56to

*Possible Spoilers*

I was blown away reading this! I’m not usually into the dystopian genre, and I wasn’t sure what to think going into this book. To be honest the reason I bought it is because I saw the movie preview and thought that it looked awesome, so I decided to give the book a try before seeing the movie. I’m glad I did, this quickly became one of my favorite books of all time.

The book is about a girl names Beatrice who lives in a dystopian version of Chicago. To prevent anymore wold wars, their society decided to split themselves into different fractions: Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent).  When the book begins so must go through a test that will tell her which fraction she belongs to. She grew up in Abnegation and believes that’s the fraction she will be given, only the test doesn’t work for her. Instead, it gives her three options and she learns she is what they call divergent, which is dangerous because they threaten the whole system and there are those who want them dead. She decides to choose Dauntless, and she must go through initiation, which is very difficult, even deadly for some, while also dealing with feeling for her mysterious instructor, Four. The story follows her going through initiation, making friends and enemies, and discovering that the Erudite are plotting something very sinister that will change their lives forever.

I loved, loved, loved everything about this book! The world building was out of this world, the way she described Chicago in ruins and the wall was amazing and I felt like I could almost truly go there it felt so real. I also liked that she made the fractions easy to understand and overwhelming in the beginning. The pace was constant through out the whole book, it was pretty fast paced and I never felt bored at any part. However, my favorite parts of the book were the characters. I wont go into detail of every character because that would take too long, but I will tell you about my two favorite ones, Beatrice and Four. I loved Beatrice because I felt like I hadn’t read her type of character in YA before. She’s such a strong and independent person that I feel she would make for a great role model for girls. She has fears, but instead of running away she chooses to fight them head on, and I like that she doesn’t lean on Four for too much support. And I like Four because he pushed Beatrice to be stronger and more independent rather than trying to hide her and save her from everything. He pushes her to be a better person and I loved that. Together, these two make the perfect team.

I didn’t really have any problems with this book, other than it stressed me out ha ha. I was so into this story that my heart was beating so hard at the end, wondering what was going to happen. Warning though, the ending will make you go out and immediately buy the next book.

I recommend this book for everyone! All ages will like this book, even if dystopian isn’t really your thing, I think you will enjoy it. This is the first book I have given 5 stars on this blog, so you know it’s good! Now, go, go out and read it too!!!

I know that Divergent has become very popular lately with the movie being out. Have you read the book? If so, what did you think of it? Also, if you have seen the movie what are your thoughts on it? If you would also like to see a review on the movie check out mine HERE.

And look out for my review of the sequel, Insurgent, next week.

 

Leave a Reply

