Book Review

Insurgent (Divergent #2)

Title:
Insurgent (Divergent #2)

Author: Veronica Roth

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Recommended if you like: Dystopia, Science Fiction, Thrillers, Romance

Published: May 1st 2012 by HarperCollins Children’s Books

Number of Pages:  525

insurgent

*Spoilers*

Last week I reviewed Divergent, and this week I’m reviewing the sequel, Insurgent. I was so pumped to read this book. And at first it was really easy for me to get into just like the first one. But, the more I read the more likely I was to put off reading it for a while.  It’s wasn’t bad, just not as fast paced to me as Divergent.

There was so much going on during this book, it was a lot to digest. I like that you got to see more of how the other fractions work. I was surprised that Amity drugged Tris, and admitted to drugging people to make them more peaceful. It was interesting to learn they had a dirty little secret, since they come off as so happy and perfect. And I liked the part when the candor put them under the truth serum in front of the whole fraction. It’s one thing to hear about it off hand, and another see into someone’s mind and how it really affects them. And that ending! Wow, that’s when it really became interesting, I can’t wait to read Allegiant and figure out what it all that means.

I main thing I didn’t like was how it was paced this time around. It just seemed to go by so slow, and would pick up at some parts than go back to being slow again. And another thing I didn’t like is it turns out Caleb really is a bad guy. I really wanted to like him and it was complete shock to me to discover that he was working with Jeanine. But, that’s more of a personal complaint than anything.

I give this book 4 stars, I liked it but not as much as Divergent. I felt like this book was slightly more boring and harder to digest. I’m still madly in love with this series though, and I can’t wait to pick up Allegiant, it’s on my to be read shelf!

If you have already read this book or Divergent let me know what you think of it and the series in the comments below, I would love to know your thoughts!

 

Leave a Reply

