Uncategorized

Musings on Audio Books

So, I’m currently reading Game of Thrones and I have fallen into a major reading slump. It has been almost a week since I have picked the book up, and every time I thought about reading, I just couldn’t be bothered. I was only about 200 pages away from the end, and was so close to being finished. Plus, there are so many books on my shelves calling my name, wanting to be read. I knew I needed to find a way past the slump so I could finally finish this book and move on to a new one, but how? Then it hit me, why not try to listen to it as an audiobook? I have never listened to one before because I always thought it would be boring, but I was so desperate I decided to give it a go.

So, last night I downloaded Game of Thrones from audible.com and was instantly intimated, it’s over 33 hours long! Luckily, I knew that I was close to the end to I found the chapter I was on and noticed I only had 9 hours left. But, it had taken so long to download last night that I fell asleep before I could listen to it.

This morning was bright and sunny, when it was supposed to be stormy all day so I took advantage of it and went to the pool. I brought my phone and headphones with me to try the audio book out. I thought the voice for this book was very fitting, but when he did different voices for the characters it was distracting. I don’t know if it was this book, or if I would feel this way with any audio book, but I got bored easily with it. I kept drifting in and out of paying attention and ended up missing a few things. Also, the chapters were really long, each one around 25-30 minutes long. I felt like I could have read them a lot faster myself. I only listened to 3 chapter while I was by the pool.

Tonight, I decided to go back straight to reading from the book and I ended up finishing it that way. It took me about 5 hours to do so, when the audio book had about 8 hours left on it, so I do feel it is quicker to actually read the book. I’m not sure if I’ll ever listen to another audiobook. I think it might be a good idea to listen to it while being busy doing something else, like driving or packing up to move. Especially if it isn’t as long and detailed story. However, I didn’t really enjoy my experience and I think it’s a lot more fun to read the book and picture and imagine the characters voices myself.

What do you think? Have you ever listened to an audiobook before? Did you like or not, and why? If you’re interested in trying one audible.com lets you get your first book for free. Click here to look for yourself.

*I was not asked or sponsored by audible.com to write this post*

Leave a Reply

