Book Review

Black Chalk Book Review*

*Note: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in return for a HONEST review*

Title: Black Chalk

Author: Christopher J. Yates

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Recommended if you like: Mystery, Fiction, London, England, New York, Psychological, Dark, Books that keep you on your toes

Published: April 1st 2014 by Random House UK

Number of Pages: 352

Purchase: Barnes and Noble

More Information Goodreads

Goodreads Summery:

It was only ever meant to be a game.

A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal, more humiliating, finally evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results.

Now, fourteen years later, the remaining players must meet again for the final round”-Goodreads

I included the Goodreads summery for this book, because I couldn’t think of a good way to explain this book myself. It’s complicated and I didn’t want to give anything away. This will a none spoiler review as to not ruin anything for anyone.

This was a unique, wild, dark, and griping story. It might sound cheesy, but once I got into this book it wouldn’t let me go, seriously! I absolutely loved it, it went way beyond my wildest expectation. I love the plot line and while I was reading this I was thinking how amazing it was because I don’t think I’ve read anything like it.

What I loved:

First off, I’m a sucker for anything set in England. I don’t know why, but it draws me in. The way the story is written in past tense through the narrators story, and through the present is interesting and different. I thought it was relatable how the group is brought together as friends, because they are new, probably scared Freshmen. Almost anyone who went off to collage knows what it means to meet people and becomes friends your first year, it can be intimidating. Through out the book you wonder how is it all going to go wrong? It makes it where you can’t stop reading till you know the secret and how it ends.

It’s dark, and in the beginning it’s written a bit confusing, but once you get used to the narration its fun. it sucks you in slowly. At first, you like what in the hell am I reading? I don’t understand anything that’s going on. But, once the story picks up about the past it draws you in completely and won’t let you go. This is a real page turner, and I can’t give anything away but there is a mysterious Game Soc(the book explains what that is) who offer to give the friends lot of money to who ever wins the game they’ve made up together. But, things are not always what they seem and friends turn against each other, but there are even darker things happening as well.

What I Didn’t Like:

I didn’t like how confusing the beginning was, it would have been nice to understand at least a little of what was going on at first. It’s confusing in the same way the movie Memento was if you’ve seen it. I understand why it was like that, but it almost made me want to put it down. However, I’m glad I didn’t stop me! It starts slow then…BAM! Things get kicked up a notch. Other than that, I have no other complaints.

Summery:

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book, it may be a new favorite. I gave it 5 stars, which y’all know does not happen often. I almost had no complaints, and then I did does contribute to the story and is in a way necessary. I recommend that if you do pick this up(which I really think you should) just keep reading and don’t let the beginning fool you. Stick with it, it’s worth it I promise! I’m looking forward to reading more by this author in the future.

Have you read this book already, or are you thinking of picking it up? Tell what you think about this book in the comments, I love reading them and I always try to respond back!

And if you enjoyed this review please like it and share it with you friends. And don’t forget to follow this blog for more awesome posts, and have an amazing day!

Leave a Reply

