Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve read So Far This Year

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme host by The Broke and the Bookish. This is my first time doing it and this week I’m listing my top ten books that I’ve read so far this year. These are in no particular order:

1. Divergent by Veronica Roth: Now, I know by now that almost everyone has heard of this book by now, but it’s too amazing not to mention. As soon as I picked it up I couldn’t put it down. This and the whole series has quickly become one of my favorites. If you haven’t picked this one up yet, please do! It’s amazing!

2. House of Bathoryby Linda Lafferty: Wow, is what I think of when I think about this book. I wasn’t expecting too much from this when I first started reading it. I’ve always been fascinated by the story and legend of Countess Bathory, but I had trouble finding a good book on the subject. But, this ended up blowing me away. It was so original, and it really brought the past and the future together.

3. Black Chalk by Christopher J. Yates: This was pretty dark book, but oh so good. Its cast of characters were fun yet, almost scary to point. It put a whole new spin on ‘innocent’ games between friends. This also had a unique narration that was similar to how the movie Memento was told.  And the mystery of what happened in the past and who will finally win in the end really makes it a page turner.

4. Insurgent by Veronica Roth: This is the sequel to Divergent, and while I didn’t enjoy as much as the first book I still loved it. But, this one was also a lot more stressful to read. It had me biting my nails and my heart pumping at a lot of different parts. And that ending! I can tell the next book is going to be even more crazy!

5. Cinder by Marissa Meyer: I can’t believe I waited so long to finally read this! I loved it so much, Cinder is such a strong person, and I love the different take on the fairytale. It was similar, but not so close to the original story that you keep matching the two up while you’re reading. It was a really fun read and I went through it in only a couple days.

6. The Luxe by Anna Godbersen: This is a great book for those who also like Downton Abby. It has the glitz and glamor of the well to do society of early 1900s New York, with characters to make it worth immersing yourself in it. It was a little hard for me to get through since it does sort of read like gossip from a teenagers diary(but that is kinda the point), but it did make me want to know what happens to the characters. I fell in love with all of them I had to know how everything turned out. And the ending is amazing and makes you want to read the next one for sure!

7. Inferno by Dan Brown: This was my first Dan Brown book and I really enjoyed it. I’m a sucker for history, so I liked how he mentioned different people and art pieces and how they all related to Dante and history. It was really fascinating and I kept picking up my phone and looking things up that I read about, including the places they had gone. It was fun adventure, and was one of those books that made me feel like I really was being transported somewhere else.

8. The Casquette Girls by Alys Arden: I love the supernatural and I love New Orleans, and this book was the perfect mix of both. It was so fun to read that I was sad when I finished it and had to put it down. If you like vampires, witches, and New Orleans pick this book immediately! And don’t feel sad when you finish it, there’s going to be sequel!

9. Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin: I know I was super late to the party on this one, but I’m glad I finally joined it. The world building in this was amazing and there are so many characters, some I liked and some I hated. How can someone keep up with all of them? But, It was a great fantasy book, which is saying a lot coming from me because I don’t usually like these types of books.

10. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer:
This is the sequel to Cinder and it was amazing! Scarlet is one of my new favorite characters as is Wolf. I can’t wait to see how their story continues in the next book. There wasn’t as much Cinder in this book, which to me was kinda a bummer, but the new characters made up for it. I’m so excited to read Cress!

I hope you enjoyed this and let me know what are your favorite books that you have read so far this year in the comments. If you liked this then please like this post and share it with your friends. And don’t forget to follow for more posts similar to this. Have a great day!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve read So Far This Year”

    1. Yeah, I want to read the whole series eventually. I’m trying to save money by not buying any new books until I finish reading what’s already on my shelves. But, when I’m done the first books I’m going to get are those 🙂

Leave a Reply

