Book Review

The Witch and Other Tales Re-Told Book Review*

*Note: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in return for a HONEST review*

Title: The Witch and Other Tales Re-Told

Author: Jean Thompson

My Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Recommended if you like: Re-telling, Fairy tales, Dark Tales, Short Stories, Fiction

Published: Expected September 25th 2014 by Blue Rider Press

Number of Pages: 272

More Information Goodreads

This book is composed of eight short stories, which were inspired by fairy tales. Some of the stories I was able to recognize the fairy tale and others I’m still not sure about. I was very excited to read this since I love fairytale retellings, and I thought that it would be an easy read since, it was split up into short stories. However, I never really fell in love with any of these stories.

I thought that the stories were very well written, and were original. I could tell the author truly enjoyed fairy tales, and tried to stay true to the dark, and eeriness of the original tales, but also gave them a modern twist. All of the tales are set in modern day settings, which made them more relatable, which made it more fun. My favorite story was actually the last one of the book called Prince. It’s about a girl whole is mentally ill who meets a dog, and they quickly become friends, the dog even talks to her. I liked this one the best because I felt it was the most happy of the stories.  It gave the book some closure and left it on a more positive note.

However, for the most part I didn’t enjoy this book. It was too dark and brutally honest for me. I know that may seem like a stupid reason not to like a book, but it left me in a bad mood every time I put it down. I understand that these were meant to be dark on purpose, but sometimes it just crossed a personal line of what I feel comfortable reading, such as rape. I also felt like some of the stories just dropped off and didn’t have an actual ending, which was a little frustrating. The stories themselves are already pretty vague on details, so to not have a definitive ending just added to vagueness.

Overall, while I didn’t enjoy these stories myself, I did think it was fun trying to figure out which fairy tale was which. And I think that there are people who will enjoy this book, it was very well written and already has some positive reviews on Goodreads. I just feel like this book was not for me personally, and it’s not for those who are sensitive to dark, depressing tales. I gave it 2 out out 5 stars because while I didn’t enjoy it, it was very well written and was a creative take on the tales.

So, what do y’all think? Does sound like a book you would be interested in? Will you read it when it comes out in September? Let me know below in the comments! If you liked this then please like and share this with your friends. And don’t forget to follow for more honest books reviews.

Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

