Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesdays: Top Ten Books On My Summer TBR List

Top Ten Tuesdays is a weekly meme host by The Broke and the Bookish. This weeks topic is the ten books on our to be read list for the summer. Here are mine in no particular order:

1. The Cipher (The Crosspointe Chronicles 1) by Diana Pharaoh Francis: This sounds like an interesting read, it has magic or majick as the book calls it and royalty. The synopsis on this is pretty vague all I know is that Lucy can detect majick which puts her in danger so she relies on a suitor who is a ship captain, but she’s not sure if she can trust him. It caught my attention and has good ratings on Goodreads, so I’m looking forward to reading it.

2. Allegiant by Veronica Roth: This is the book in the Divergent series and I have been putting off reading it for a while now. I’m just not sure if I’m ready for this series to end for me yet. I’ve fallen in love with this world and it’s characters and I’m worried it wont end the way I want ha ha. But I’ll finish it soon so I can be caught up with everyone else.

3. The Paris Wife by Paula McLain: This is another book I’ve been putting off for a long time too. I actually bought this last summer to read while hanging out by the pool but I couldn’t do it. One of the first things it tells you is that Hemingway falls in love with someone else during the story and that their marriage will end. It’s a love story but, it let’s you know ahead of time it doesn’t end well. I’m a sap so I will totally cry through this book and I didn’t want to be depressed, so I put it down. Now, I think I’m mentally prepared enough to read this and I can’t wait because I’ve heard so many good things about it.

4. The Witch of Cologne by Tobsha Learner: I had been eying this for years before I finally bought it a couple months ago. I love witches and I love Germany, enough said. Plus, the cover looks amazing. But, I haven’t actually looked into any reviews of this book so I’m just praying that it’s good and not a let down.

5. Artful by Peter David: I’ve been seeing this book making the rounds around the internet so I was excited when I got a copy of it. This sounds amazing! It’s about the Oliver twist character the Artful Dodger and it includes vampires and a plot to overthrow the British government. It does sound like it has a lot going on, but I think it’s going to be a very fun read and I can’t wait to pick it up.

6. Cress by Marissa Meyer: The Lunar Chronicles is one of my favorite series and I can’t wait to find out about the new character, who is supposed to be based on Rapunzel. These books never disappoint and this will be a nice, fun read perfect for the beach or anywhere really.

7. The Hidden by Jo Chumas: This is on this list because I finally need to finish it. I’ve left this unfinished since last year and it’s driving me nuts. It wasn’t that it was bad or boring, I just kept getting sidetrack with other books that I wanted to read more. I’m hoping to have this finished by the end of the summer. And it should be easy since it based in Egypt and I love reading books set there, and good books set in Egypt is actually hard to find.

8. The Hotel on Place Vendome by Tilar J. Mazzeo: This book is based around the people who stayed and worked at the Ritz during Nazi occupation. I love this kind of stuff and I can’t wait to find out about the dirty little secrets surrounding this hotel during this time.

9. Shadow of Night(All Souls Trilogy 2) by Deborah Harkness: I loved the first book of this series, it was so so good! Diana and Matthew are such a cute couple and I cant wait to see what happens now that they are in 1590 in London. If you haven’t read A discovery of Witches yet, please do. There are so many wonderful characters that just fly off the page and the story isn’t cheesy even though there are vampires and other otherworldly creatures involved.

10. Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys: I love New Orleans as y’all already know so this immediately caught my eye. I’ve heard a lot of good things about it so hopefully it will be good. It’s about a girl who is a daughter of a prostitute and wants to get out of the Big Easy. But, there’s a murder and she gets entangled in it. And now she is stuck between getting sucked back into the city and finding out the truth, or getting out and starting a new life.

I hope you liked my answers, and please like and share this if you enjoyed it. If this looked like fun go to The Broke and the Bookish and join in on the fun. Or you can tell me what books your looking forward to reading this summer in the comments below.

Don’t forget to follow for more posts like this one and I have a great day!

 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Top Ten Books On My Summer TBR List”

    1. Ha ha that’s true! I didn’t even think about that and yeah I’ll read it because I just can’t resist lol.

Leave a Reply

