Uncategorized

Dealing With Anxiety

I have been dealing with anxiety for many years now, but lately I have had a lot on my plate and it’s been extra bad. It’s easy to feel alone when you’re struggling with anxiety, but I know that I’m not the only one out there with this problem. And since I know that a lot of you are also struggling with this I thought I would tell you how I deal with it and hopefully it will help you in someway too.

A little bit about my anxiety story, I started having anxiety attacks when I was 14, but I didn’t know what they were. They began to get more regular when I was 18 and then I finally discovered what they were, and that actually a lot of my family suffers from it. From then on they get more severe as well, some were so bad I actually would passed out or lose some of my vision. It was really scary. In college it became difficult to live with so I went to see some psychologists and they helped me learn how to cope with it. I still have frequent anxiety and attacks, but I can better handle them now than before. However, sometimes it’s easy to let the panic get a hold of you, and it gets tiring dealing with all time.

If you suffer from chronic anxiety, a really good habit to get into is exercising. I know this is hard, and I’m not always good about it myself, but this really helps in reducing anxiety attacks. It can be simple like walking or yoga, or it can be more tough like heavy cardio. I personally like to do Pilates everyday because its enough to wear me out a little, but not too much where it’s hard and overwhelming. But any type of exercise that gets your heart rate up is great because it gives your body an outlet for all that built up anxiety and adrenaline.

When I first feel an anxiety attack coming on I try to do breathing exercises. This is one of the most popular techniques to help calm down, but some people may not know about it or may think that it doesn’t actually do anything. I try to take deep, slow breaths focusing on nothing else but my breathing. Sometimes, this really helps, but sometimes it’s not enough. But, it doesn’t hurt to try this first and see if it helps.

If the breathing doesn’t help me calm down then I take a minute to separate myself from what ever I’m doing and I close my eyes and talk to myself. I know that sounds weird at first, but I try to tell myself what my body is actually doing instead of what I’m feeling. Like how it feels like I cant breath because I’m panicking and not breathing regularly and this makes me remember to take deeps breaths. Being logical and telling myself that my anxiety isn’t based on anything tangible will sometimes help me see that there isn’t anything to panic about and I’ll be able to see clearly and calm down.

As a last resort I take some medication. I try not do this too often, just when I’m having a bad attack or when it seems like my anxiety won’t end. Medication is something that I think can be great and life changing for people for suffer from General Anxiety Disorder or panic attacks, but those who only have anxiety intermittently need be careful worth it. I think it should be something that needs to be taken on an as needed basis. But, if you feel this is something that may help you go see a doctor. They will be able to properly assess your condition and find the perfect medicine for you.

Apart from all this, it really helps to go see someone such as a psychologist or a psychiatrist. I went to one while I was in high school and also when I was in college. The second time was because I was actually in counseling and you had to go to a counselor to get get credit(I graduated with a degree in psychology with an emphasis in community counseling). And even the second when I didn’t think I need it as much it helped tremendously. Even though I understood what was happening and already had some coping methods, it was nice just to talk to someone and have someone understand how you’re feeling.

I really hoped this helped, if only to let you know you’re not alone. If you have any questions, let me know in the comments and I’ll try my best to answer them. As I stated before, I’m sorry if I don’t post on a regular basis in the next month, it’s not because I’ve forgotten and hopefully it will get back to normal in August. I also will definitely have a book review up this week on A Prisoner of Night and Fog, I can’t wait to share it with y’all!

If you found this post helpful than please like and share with your friends. And follow me for more awesome posts like this one. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

