Book Review

The Supernatural Enhancements Book Review*

*This title was provided for me by the publisher via netgalley in return for a honest review.

Title: The Supernatural Enhancements

Author: Edgar Cantero

My Rating:

starstarstarstarstar_empty

Published: August 12th 2014 by Doubleday

Recommended If You Like: Gothic, Ghosts, Mysteries, Fantasy, Paranormal, Supernatural, Horror

Pages: 368

More Information: Goodreads

Source: Goodreads
Source: Goodreads

Usually, when I review a book I do so the day after so that my thoughts and ideas on it are still fresh. However, due to lack of internet the past week, it’s exactly one week since I finished this book. When I had just put it down I had no idea what to think of it, I had to disgust and sort everything out. So, I think it’s actually a good thing I waited to write this review, because now I’ve thought about it and my verdict is…it’s amazing!

“When twentysomething A., the unexpected European relative of the Wells family, and his companion, Niamh, a mute teenage girl with shockingly dyed hair, inherit the beautiful but eerie estate of Axton House, deep in the woods of Point Bless, Virginia, it comes as a surprise to everyone—including A. himself. After all, he never even knew he had a “second cousin, twice removed” in America, much less that the eccentric gentleman had recently committed suicide by jumping out of the third floor bedroom window—at the same age and in the same way as his father had before him . . .

Together, A. and Niamh quickly come to feel as if they have inherited much more than just a rambling home and a cushy lifestyle. Axton House is haunted, they know it, but that’s just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to the secrets they slowly but surely uncover. Why all the suicides? What became of the Axton House butler who fled shortly after his master died? What lurks in the garden maze and what does the basement vault keep? And what of the rumors in town about a mysterious gathering at Axton House on the night of the winter solstice?”-Source: Goodreads

At first, I had a hard time adjusting to the narrative. It’s told through dairy’s, surveillance tapes, a tape recorder, letters, book excerpts, and other mediums. So, sometimes it was a little hard to follow and I would have to reread something to understand whats going on, but I got used to it. It made it so that was like watching a scary movie that’s shown through a video camera, such as paranormal activity, but in book form. I really liked the idea of that, and it definitely added some horror aspect to it.

The main focus of this book is the Axton House, that house A. inherits in a small town in America, well really is a massive mansion. And the detail the author gives you of it molds it more into a character than just a house. It’s a living thing, and it has many secrets hiding in it’s massive walls. As for the real characters, they’re interesting in the fact the reader doesn’t really get to know anything abut them except what develops during this story. Their backgrounds are pretty vague, but it make more sense in the end, although you still don’t get to learn much about A. and Niamh. There are other interesting characters that come in and out throughout the book, such as the mysterious Aunt Liza, whom the constantly write, but don’t seem to hear much from. As well as a group of men who are part a secret society and send in vague letters regarding something they don’t fully understand. But, I’ll let you discover these men for yourselves when you read the book.

As for the story itself, it’s actually very spooky. I’ve only read one other book that managed to scare me and the was Something Wicked by Lisa Jackson and Nancy Bush(not a great choice for a beach vacation). So, when I picked this up I wasn’t expecting to be scared, but I was pleasantly surprised. It was so spooky it actually gave me a nightmare! Ha ha. And at the center is a mystery sounding the secret society and why they meet every winter solstice. I was quite surprise to discover what was at it’s center: a crystal ball. But, trust me it goes much deeper than that, and darker too. The ending was not disappointing either. I wasn’t quite sure where the story was leading me, but I wasn’t expecting what I got. But, it was a great way to tie everything in and my mind was buzzing when I finished it. I still can’t stop thinking about it.

This is a great book, I would have given it 5 stars if the narrative wasn’t so hard to understand and follow. But, other than that it’s a lot of fun and very scary. If you enjoy scary movies and ghost stories, than this is the perfect book for you. Beware of possible nightmares lol! This comes out August 12th, so be sure to put this on your August TBR list.

So what do you think? Does this book sound interesting or not your thing? Are you going to read it when it comes out? Let me know in the comments. And don’t forget to like and this with your friends so they know about this so be released paranormal mystery! Follow so that you can see future book reviews like this one as well as other book related things. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

