Uncategorized

10 Halloween Themed Book Recommendations

October is a great month to curl up in a blanket, grab a nice warm drink, and read the day away. I have a special place in my heart for dark, spooky, and scary books. And with Halloween right around the corner, now is the perfect time to pick up something with a little mystery and magic. Here’s 10 of my favorite books that are perfect for Halloween if you are still looking for something fun to read this month (click on the book covers for more information). I tried to make this quick and simple:

3682

A Great and Terrible Beauty (Gemma Doyle #1) by Libba Bray: It’s been awhile since I last read this series, but It was one of my favorites and still is today. It’s based mostly in England during the Victorian era at an all girls boarding school. The main character has visions and there is a bit a magic in this book. If that your thing then I recommend you go look this book up and see if it interests you.

3

The Harry Potter Series by J.K Rowling: This series is like a cup of hot chocolate, it’s simply comforting and brings all the warm feelings.  This series has everything: magic, creatures, a very scary villain, death eaters. Yeah, this is a perfect read for those who want to read something that incuding something scary, while also being very fun and light.

2242412

The historian by Elizabeth Kostova : I have to admit that I’m very biased when it comes to this book, because it is my all time favorite book right now, I think it has even beaten out Gone With the Wind. This is a great vampire book for adults. It’s not cheesy or one of the vampire romances, it leans more toward the classic Dracula and is a new fresh take on the legend. This books also does a lot of traveling and is a great way to escape through time and places for a little bit.

43763

Interview with a Vampire by Anne Rice: This has become a modern classic is my eyes. This is another one of my favorite all time books (do I think a thing for vampire books or what? ha ha) and I feel like a lot of you already know what this one is about. It’s a story through the eyes of the vampire Louis and the vampire who made him, Lestat. It goes on about their adventures through the centuries up to modern times. This is a must read for vampire lovers.

10690

Dracula by Bram Stoker: This is the classic when it comes to vampires, this book is pretty much where it all began. I love this book, and I would go into detail about the story but by now it’s been told so may times and in so many ways I’m that you know at least the gist of it. And if not then please go check it out, it’s worth the read!

8667848

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness: This is a great book for lovers of witches and vampires, and it also includes creatures called daemons. This is just a great all over book no matter what time of year it is, although the time line of this book is in October and the author has a read along time line online that would be fun to read along with. It is a romance, but it also has mystery and thrills, as well as great settings. Debrorah really has a way with words and describes things so that the book really comes to life. I highly, highly recommend this book and I’m actually currently reading the second book in this series and it too is great so far.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000035_00037]

The Casquette Girls by Alys Arden: This another book that combines witches and vampires. It’s based in New Orleans (one of my favorite places, especially around this time of year) and it set around the time of Halloween as well. This is a really fun read, with lots of funny parts. The main character is very sassy. But there are also a lot of spooky parts as well, so there is a little something for everyone in this book.

Source: Goodreads
Source: Goodreads

Supernatural Enhancements by Edgar Cantero : If you love truly scary books, then this is the book for you! This is like a book form of the paranormal movies that are shot through characters video recording themselves. The book is narrated through voice recorders, videos, and letters. the centers around a boy and girl moving into an old mansion that was left to him by a member of the family he didn’t even know. then freaky things start to happen and a mystery about a cult begins to surface. This book will leave you wanting more.

7171637

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare: this book and series has a little bit of everything, demons, angels, ghosts, vampires, warlocks. If you didn’t enjoy her city of bones series, then please don’t let it stop you from trying this series out too. I wasn’t a huge fan of her other series, but this quickly became one of my top favorite series and I fell in love with all the characters, they’re so great. And it’s based in Victorian London, need I say more?

4836308

The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Kathrine Howe: The author is an actually descendant of one the witches burned at the stake during the witch trails of Salem MA. So it’s no surprise that this is a book about a witch in modern Salem. I thought this was a very smart plot and it had me riveted the whole time I was reading it. I don’t want to give away too much, so go check it out of you like stories about witches!

 

I hope this gave you some great ideas on some last minutes Halloweeen reads! Let me know you’re reading right now, love you guys ❤

 

 

1 thought on “10 Halloween Themed Book Recommendations”

Leave a Reply

