Book Review

Shadow of Night Book Review

Title:
Shadow of Night (All Souls Trilogy #2)

Author: Deborah Harkness

My Rating:

starstarstarstarstar

 

Recommended if you like: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Time Travel. Supernatural, Witches, Vampires, Magic

Published: July 10th 2012 by Viking Adult

Number of Pages: 584

Source: Goodreads
Source: Goodreads

 

This book was absolutely magical. I didn’t want to finish this book and leave it characters and the world, but I couldn’t put it down. I read the last 100 pages in one sitting, which is saying a lot for me.

Diana and Matthew are one of my favorite fictional characters. And we get to meet a lot of real, historical characters in this book as well. I didn’t know the characters in the school of night from history but there were a lot of other historical characters that I did know, such as Queen Elizabeth Tudor and Shakespeare.
I was worried because I had heard that this book could be slow and boring, but I think that depends on how much you love history. I personally love it and therefore found a lot of the details fascinating. But I can see how they would be tedious to others.

So much happens in this book, that I won’t go into any detail about the plot. But if you loved the first book then you’re in for a treat with this one as well. If you were frustrated with lot of questions at the end of the last book, get excited because this will give you the answers! There were even parts that I couldn’t stop myself from putting the book down and talking to myself excitedly about some of the crazy things that happen. It always fun when a book can get you so animated. And if you haven’t read a discovery of witches, what are you waiting for?? It’s a truly magical book full of vampires, witches, and daemons. And a little romance too, but not cheesy romance so don’t worry.

The third book, The Book of Life, came out earlier this month. I already bought it, but now I’m afraid to pick it up because it’s the final one and I’m not ready to part with Diana and Matthew yet. I want to take a break and just savor this book for a little bit, but I feel like I won’t be able to resist the third book for long.

Have you read this series yet? If so tell me your thoughts and also give me your recommendations for other books similar to this. Please like and share this if you found this helpful. ❤ you all and see you next time.

Leave a Reply

