Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Books/Movies To Read Or Watch To Get In The Halloween Spirit

Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday post…on a Wednesday. Please, ignore this slight indiscretion. I had a very insane day yesterday. We learned some excited news (not pregnant lol) and I’ll share that on a later date when I get details. Anyway, if you don’t know Top Ten Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. I’m going to list 5 books and 5 movies to shake it up a bit instead of just listing books, because I already listed some Halloween books on a another post. you can look at it here.

Now on with the show:

1. A Discovery of Witches

8667848

This book takes place during october and ends on hallowen night so it’s perfect to get into the Halloween spirit. It’s an overall great book that has witches, vampires, and daemons. So there is a little something for everyone.

2. The Historian

2242412

This a really spooky read that leads you on a wild chase throughout eastern Europe. It’s a more modern take on Dracula and I really recommend it, especially if you love Dracula by Bram Stoker. If you love history then you will really love this as well.

3. Interview with a Vampire

43763

I love this book, it’s a great vampire book that’s not cheesy. it has so many great characters and it’s a prefect mix of drama, history, and scary. you really get a deep look into the life of a vampire and it makes you more sorry for them than scared.

4. The Casquette Girls

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000035_00037]

This is a great book for those who are looking for a good Halloween read, that’s not really scary. It’s really funny and great for those who have experienced New Orleans and are familiar with it’s culture. This is a bright, fun books that deals with post Katrina New Orleans. It’s fun but it’s a also a little spooky and deals with magic and vampires.

5. Dracula

10690

This is just a classic, I mean come on. Do I need to say more? If you haven’t read this already then pick it up! What are you waiting for?

6. Queen of the Damned

images

I haven’t read the actual book yet since I haven’t gotten through Lestat yet. But, I really like this movie. I’ve heard it doesn’t follow the book and that a lot of people find it cheesy. But, what can I say? I absolutely love it, plus the music is killer. It has one of the best soundtracks around.

7. The Nightmare Before Christmas

The_nightmare_before_christmas_poster

This is a childhood classic that can still be enjoyed as an adult. I know all the songs and almost all the lines as well. It’s just funny and scary at the same time. And it’s one of the few movies that can be classified as both a Halloween movie and a Christmas movie. How many other movies can say that?

8. Hocus Pocus

MV5BMTI3MDI2NDc3Ml5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNDQ2MzQyMQ@@._V1_SX640_SY720_

This is my favorite Halloween movie of al time and I have to watch it multiple times every October. I’ve already watched it once this month and I ready to watch again. It’s so funny and has so many classic one liners. I feel like a kid again when I watch this and it always makes me fell happy. Plus, those Sanderson sisters are sassy. I have ‘I Put A Spell On You’ running through my right now and I don’t think it will stop anytime soon.

9. Hotel Transvelvaina

MV5BMTM3NjQyODI3M15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDM4NjM0OA@@._V1_SX214_AL_

I watched this for the first time this year as part of ABC Family’s 13 nights of Halloween and it is hilarious! This will now be integrated into my yearly must watch Halloween movies. If you haven’t watched this yet, check it out it’s awesome!

10. Sleepy Hollow

Sleepy_hollow_ver2

I love Johnny Depp and this is one of my very spooky movies that aren’t too scary. It even has some funny parts. The colors in the film make it really dark and it just really puts you in the mood for Halloween night.

What are some of your favorites? Let me know in the comments! ❤ y’all and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

