Book Review

Sleepy Hollow Children of the Revolution Book Review*

* I received a free ecopy of this book through blogging for books.

Title: Sleepy Hollow Children of the Revolution

Author: Keith R.A DeCandido

Pages: 304

Published: September 30th, 2014

3 out of 5 stars

Sleepy Hollow is one of my favorite shows right now, so I was very excited when I heard they were releasing two tie in books. I chose this one which is a novel of a new mystery that Abbie and Crane must solve. While, the other is a personal journal through the eyes of Crane.

My first impression of this book was that it was a lot fun. It was a nice change of pace to see the world through each characters eyes, especially Cranes. There’s an on going joke through the book about Crane misunderstanding some police lingo and repeating it using ‘humping the radio car’ in hilarious and inappropriate ways. It was like being transported into one of the episodes.

At much fun as I thought this book could be at times, it also felt like it was lacking in some places. The writing style is great and easy to fly through, but the plot itself felt too simple. I found that it could be slow and although this is a very easy read, I could read about 25% within one hour. I found it hard to pick up and get back into it.

The plot wasn’t bad or boring, but it irked me the whole time. In the end I think it was because it felt like it was a plot the could have been condensed into an hour episode that was being dragged out over a 304 paged book. It would have been better for me if it was just condensed down or made more complicated and challenging.

Overall, I did enjoy a lot and I think those who love the show will also enjoy it. It’s also great for those who love history or a quick and easy read. I hope you liked this review and let me know your thoughts on it!

❤ y'all and I hope y'all have a great day!

Leave a Reply

