Uncategorized

To Buy Or Not To Buy….

To buy or not to buy? That is the question.

The question is something that I think most book lovers ask themselves repeatedly. I myself have a bit of a book buying problem, well addiction really. Last year I spent wayyyy too much money on books. I knew that it was becoming an issue so I started looking into others ways to get and read books without having to spend big bucks. And I managed to find quite a few ways to save tons of money on books, and it has been a godsend for me this year(and for my wallet).

Here is a neat, tidy list of the ways I save money on books this year

1. Goodreads Giveaways: FREE If you have never looked at the giveaway section of Goodreads, then you are seriously missing out! They have hundreds of books that you can enter to win for free plus sometimes they also had goodies. Somethings they are ARC that you get to read before the book is available to the rest of the public. It’s a fun and if you enter multiple giveaways you have a really good chance of winning at one. I believe I won at least around 10 books this year, not sure on the exact number but it is a lot. In return it is polite to leave a review of the book on Goodreads, but it not required.

2. The Library: FREE Old school, but a classic. If you can’t afford to buy books, and have a book that you absolutely want to read right now, chances are that the library has it. I don’t know too many people that still go to the library for fun, but it really is a secret gem. It’s especially good for those who want to read a book, but are not sure if it’s going to be good and worth the money. Plus, you can check out multiple books out at once, great for when you’re going on long trips.

3. Review Copies: FREE Now, this is one that’s more for bloggers specifically. But, if you are thinking of starting a blog and talking about books this is an added bonus. There are multiple websites such as NetGalley and Eidelweiss that allow you to request ARCs. If you are requested they will either send you an ebook or a physical copy of the book to read and the post reviews through your blog and social media. I absolutely love this sites and have been loving reading these books and reviewing them is half fun!

4. Goodwill Bookstore(or any Used Bookstore): DISCOUNTED This one isn’t free unfortunately, but does allow you to get really good used books for super cheap. I have a wonderful local used bookstore that is tons of fun to go because they also sell quirky gifts as well. It’s always nice to go and support your local mom and pop stores, plus these stores are usually a ton of fun to explore. Charities such as Goodwill as have bookstore from book donations that they have received. You can find hidden treasures in these stores and they also support as great cause as well.

That’s is all they ways that I have managed to save some money this year. And while I have been a bit naughty and bought some full price books from amazon and Barnes and Noble, it wasn’t too bad plus it’s good to support brick and mortar shops such as Barnes and Nobles too.

Do you have another trick on saving money on books? Please let me and others know in the comments! Thank you so much for reading and I hope you enjoyed it. Don’t forget to like, share, and subscribe if you haven’t already.

Lots of love and have a great day! xoxo

Leave a Reply

