top ten tuesday weekly meme book
Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Book for History Lovers

Top Ten Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This weeks topic was ten books for __. And I chose history lovers because history and  historical fiction is my favorite subject.

1. The Historian: If I was stuck on a desert island this is the one book I would want to take with me. It’s the perfect book for a adults who like vampires, but don’t want to read any cheesy YA romance. This book has lot so history, adventure, and even an appearance of Dracula himself.

2242412
Source: Goodreads

 

2. A Discovery of Witches: This book follow a historian who is currently researching at Oxford, who s also a witch. When she makes a startling discovery, she gets mixed up with a vampire and together they try to solve the mystery.

8667848
Source: goodreads

 

3. Mademoiselle Boleyn: This is a historical fiction based on the time Anne Boleyn spent in the French court during her childhood. I feel like this is a little talked about time in her life and I found it very interesting and well written.

Source: Goodreads Click for Goodreads page
Source: Goodreads

4. The Hangman’s Daughter: This is a novel that is set in the 1600s Bavaria after the Great War. It follows the local hangman and a medicus as a woman is put on a witch trial and try to save her by founding out who is killing children. The cool thing about this book is the the hangman and his family is based on the authors actual ancestors.

Source: Goodreads
Source: Goodreads

5. Inferno: This is the only Dan Brown book Ive read so far, but I loved it. It a great art and historical mystery.

Source: Goodreads
Source: Goodreads

6. Becoming Marie Antoinette: This is a great historical fiction based on Marie’s childhood and how she became the queen of France. This is part of a series and the second book is just as good as well. I need to read the third now too.

Source: goodreads
Source: goodreads

 

7. Madam Tussaud: A Novel of the French Revolution: This book is so interesting! If gives you a look of how the french revolution transpired and what it was like to live during time as well as a look at Madam Tussaud. Most people know here know from the famous was museums, but this book tells you how she became known for was figures.

Source: Goodreads
Source: Goodreads

 

8. The Book Thief: This is another one of my favorites, it show WWII in Germany through the eyes of a little girl. The writing style of this is beautiful as well, and it’s a very memorable book.

Source: Goodreads
Source: Goodreads

9. House of Bathory: This book goes back and forth from modern day Colorado and then to Elizabeth Bathory. I thought this was a great mystery and was lot of fun to read, while being dark too.

Source: Goodreads
Source: Goodreads

10. The Luxe: This is a YA based in early 1990s New York and looks at the privileged lives of the rich youths. However, looks aren’t everything and money can’t buy happiness. I think this would be a good read for anyone interested in Downton Abbey, although is based in the US.

Source: Goodreads
Source: Goodreads

What are some of your favorite history books? I would love to hear new recommendations! Please like, comment, and share if you enjoyed this. And don’t forget to follow more posts like this!

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book for History Lovers”

  1. My all time favorite historical fiction novels have come from Phillipa Gregory. The White Queen and The Other Bolyen Girl are my two favorites of hers. I agree with Discovery of Witches also! I need to reread them because I finally purchased the last book in the series but it’s been so long I forgot. :/ Also Outlander is another one of my favorites!

    Check out my TTT about epic fantasy books: https://bookwormgirl513.wordpress.com/

    1. I have The Other Bolyen Girl and only got half way through but I’ve been meaning to try to reread it since so many people love it. And the white queen looks good too! I think they made a tv series out of that I want to watch as well.

    1. It’s so good, and I feel like not enough people have heard of it. It’s definitely an underrated book, I hope you like it!

      1. You don’t have to be sorry, it’s not your fault I didn’t like it! I’m so glad to hear The Book Thief is well written, it’s been on my list for ages!

  2. What an interesting book, i always hoping that the Hangman Daughter and Book Thief translated in Bahasa so i can read it.

    Nice sharing, by the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

