Book Review

The Orignals: The Rise Book Review

Title: The Originals: The Rise (Originals #1)

Author: Julie Plec

Published: January 27th 2015 by HQN Books

Pages: 352

Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Vampire, Television, YA, Historical Fiction, Werewolves

Rating: starstarstar_emptystar_emptystar_empty

Source: Goodreads
Source: Goodreads

 

I was really excited to read this since I’m a huge fan of the show. I had high expectations, but sadly it didn’t live up to the show. The author had so much to work with: great, complex characters and 1722 New Orleans. What could have been great was in the end simply boring.

By the time I was half way through the book, I had still felt like nothing had happened. I could sum up the events in a small sentence: Elijah found a house, Klaus found a lover, and so has Rebekah. That was about it. The book doesn’t pick up until about the last 50 pages. Other than the end it was a pain to get through. I knocked off 2 stars due to the pure boring nature of it.

Another huge problem for me was the insta love. It was love at fist sight for both Klaus and Rebekah, but was Rebekah’s love that bothered me the most. I don’t want to give too much away for those who want to read the book. But, lets just say there are strange circumstances that make her relationship awkward for me. Plus, their relationship moves way too quickly, it’s completely unrelatable or real to me. I knocked off 1 star for these reasons.

In the end I think this is only a book for fans of the show. The characters aren’t introduced properly and they appear flat in personality, so that if a reader was coming across them for the first time the characters would appear dull and forgettable. You have to rely on what you know from the show to know them in the book.

I personally wouldn’t recommend this book to anyone, even fans. However, it does leave you wanting for more at the very end, but I don’t know if it worth going through another boring 200 and something pages for the next one waiting for it to get good too. Would you read the next one if you’ve read this book? Do you think it worth it? Let me know what you thought about this book and the series in comments. If you enjoyed this then please like, share, and follow for more posts like this one.

Leave a Reply

