Book Review

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? Book Review #buttonsbookshelf 

This is the March book in the #buttonsbookshelf book club. If your interested in joining check out Essie Button’s blog. She’s lots of fun and so far I’ve enjoyed all the books we’ve read, very woman positive.

Title: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)

Author: Mindy Kaling

Published: November 1st 2011 by Crown Archetype

Genres: Memoir, Humor, Biography

Pages: 222

My Review: starstarstarstarstar

mindy kaling book

I can explain this book in one word: addicting! Even though I’m not too familiar with her work(I simply know her from the Office), I fell in love with her through this book. It is so good that I didn’t want to put it down at night and go to sleep. Needless to say, I lost a lot of sleep while reading this.

Mindy is a writer by profession so it’s no surprise that this is written amazingly well. It’s split up into separate categories and then there are little essays and lists within each category. This makes it very straightforward and easy to follow. However, the best part was her humor!

This is one of the funniest books I’ve read recently, next to Yes Please. There are so many quotable moments, I can’t count them all. Here’s my favorite from the beginning of the book:

For Instance, they say the best revenge is living well. I say it’s acid in the face-who will love them now?”

I love how relatable her jokes are as well. For instance she talks about how she doesn’t understand what hooking up means. And in my head I had a I’m not alone moment. Also, she complains about how men always put their shoes on slowly. It’s just so funny how she makes these observations that we can all relate too and laugh at with her.

My only complaint was that all the pictures where small and in black in white. It made them harder to see and I would have liked to see more detail. I feel like the pictures are important and make the book more fun, so why did they pass over this?

If you’ve read this book I want to know which essay or topic did you relate to most? And if you’ve read this book, what are you waiting for? If you lied this then please like, share, and follow. And don’t forget you can follow me on twitter, instagram, and facebook. Just click the Social media tab at the top of the page to find my accounts!

Leave a Reply

