brains and beauty book review
Book Review

Conspiracy Of Blood And Smoke Book Review

Title: Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke(Prinsoner of Night and Fog #2)

Author: Anne Blankman

Published: April 21st 2015 by Balzer + Bray

Recommended If You Like: Historical Fiction, YA, WWII, Thriller, Romance

Pages: 416

My Rating: starstarstarstarstar

conspiracy blood smoke book
Source: Goodreads

I was such a huge fan of Prisoner and Night and Fog that when I found out that there was going to be a sequel I immediately pre-ordered it so i that I could receive it on the release day and immediately start reading it. I have a bit of an obsession with WWII, I don;t know why, but the period is interesting to me. However, it’s frustrating because its hard to find YA books that are set in this era. I love historical fiction, but I also was wishing something different but I didn’t know what it was, until this series. It’s such a breath of fresh air and has a fast paced story that keeps you glued until the very end.

If you haven’t read Prisoner of Night and Fog yet, the story is about Gretchen who is brought up with Adolf Hitler as her Uncle Dolf and he has a huge hand in raising her. So she grows up as a Nazi darling, but everything changes when she meets a Jewish reported named Daniel and she begins to see the Nazi party, her Uncle Dolf, and even her family in a new, dark light.

This was a great sequel, it picks up a year or two after the last one and now Gretchen and Daniel are settle in England with the psychiatrist from the first book. However, Daniel hears news about his family back in Germany so he rushes back even though he knows it’s dangerous. He ends up missing so Gretchen risks everything and goes to Germany to find him.

This was very fast paced and it had my heart pounding the whole time. There is never a dull moment and even though this is a semi-large book I never noticed since I went through it so fast. You get to meet some of characters from the first book which was fun and exciting to see where they are as well. the characters are so well developed, and are written in a way tat really makes you root for them while also showing their flaws. Which I love because it makes them seem more real. When I finished this book I was so sad because I wanted more!! Hopefully, there were be more in the series! There is definitely room left at the end to continue.

The only issue I had with this book was how it seemed like there was a lot of drama in Gretchen and Daniel’s relationship. It’s understandable that there would be some problems between them, but it was made a main point of the book and that bummed me out. I felt like it took away from all the other more important things going on in the plot. However, it didn’t bother me enough to take away a star.

Let me know if you have read this series and what you think! Don’t forget to like, share, and follow for more book reviews. And check out my social tab to see what else I’m up to outside the blog.

Leave a Reply

