Book Review

What Is Your Book Fate? Giveaway!*

Hello everyone! Today I would like to ask you a question: What is your book fate—what book has changed your perspective, your heart, your life? At the bottom of this post I’ll let know how you can answer this question to be entered into a giveaway for a free book!

I think every bookworm has that one book that changed your life in some way. For me, mine came whine I was 9 years old and only just beginning to like reading. I moved around when i was younger and because of this I had a difficult time learning to read, because my schools were at different places in teaching phonics. I had be tutored after school and I resented it early on. Due, to my difficulty I hated reading and did it as little as possible and certainly not for fun.

However in the 4th grade, I didn’t have much choice anymore. My school had adapted the AR system, which kept track of your reading level by color coded books. To help as along, my school held AR parties for those who read and completed enough quizzes and where on the right reading track. I first I didn’t care, and as a result I missed the first party. So, while other students were inside eating ice cream and watching a movie, I was sitting outside in the Mississippi heat with a few other students doing worksheets. After that I decided I was going to do whatever it took to make sure I got to participate in the next party. I was a few grades behind at my reading level at this point, so I had to read a lot of books to catch up to the rest of the class. But I did it, and I did make it to the next party. i was so proud of myself and along the way I had begun to like reading.

At this same time, my mother had recently married my Stepdad. We had a hard time connecting in the beginning, and it was hard. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone was just released. It hadn’t become popular yet and I had never heard of it. But somehow he had, and since he knew I was reading a lot he took me to the bookstore and bought it for me. When I got it I had no idea what it was about or that it was going to have such a huge impact on my life. As soon as I opened it, I was able to escape to new and wonderful world. My life was at a confusing time and I was having a hard time adapting. But, when I was reading this book I was taken to a place with magic and characters who I felt were like my friends. It filled me with so much happiness and hope, it helped me get through a rough year.

I know that Harry Potter has touched so many lives and I feel so lucky to have been there since the beginning. Since buying me that book, my Stepdad and I went and saw the movies together, it was something that brought us together. I think it’s so special when a book is able to do that and why I think reading so important. This is what leads me to the exciting part of this post: The Giveaway.

The prize of the giveaway is a free copy of the book A tale of Unusual Magic by Lisa Papademetriou. It’s a new middle grade novel that was just leased this month.

A tale of highly unusual magic

Here is a synopsis of the book:

Kai and Leila are both finally having an adventure. For Leila, that means a globe-crossing journey to visit family in Pakistan for the summer; for Kai, it means being stuck with her crazy great-aunt in Texas while her mom looks for a job. In each of their bedrooms, they discover a copy of a blank, old book called The Exquisite Corpse. Kai writes three words on the first page—and suddenly, they magically appear in Leila’s copy on the other side of the planet. Kai’s words are soon followed by line after line of the long-ago, romantic tale of Ralph T. Flabbergast and his forever-love, Edwina Pickle. As the two take turns writing, the tale unfolds, connecting both girls to each other, and to the past, in a way they never could have imagined.

A heartfelt, vividly told multicultural story about fate and how our stories shape it.

I love the premise of this novel because it’s about the wonderful connections books can help us make. Plus, the book in the novel is called the Exquisite Corpse, and that is so up my alley. If you’re interested in winning this new magical novel, which I’ll be reviewing very soon, all you have to do answer the question What is Your Book Fate? Tell me in the comments below what book has changed you life, perspective, heart, and made a huge impact on you. Your comment will be your entry and you may only answer once. I will announce the winner early next month, November, and the publisher will send the winner the book, not me personally.

I hope you are as excited about this book as I am and I’m looking forwarding to reading your answers!

If you enjoyed this post please like, share, and follow to keep up to date with future posts ❤

*The publisher will be the sending the book, not myself. However, I will be the one to choose the winner. Also, I did receive a copy this book for reviewing purposes. All thoughts and opinions are mine and mine only.

6 thoughts on “What Is Your Book Fate? Giveaway!*”

  1. The cover looks awesome!

    On a side note, the book that changed my life, perspective and heart, and has inspired me to live life with a purpose is the Bible. It is the only book I read a chapter of everyday.

    1. Hello you’re the winner of the giveaway! 🙂 I’ve contacted the publisher and will give you directions on getting your book as soon as I hear back!

      1. Hey, go to my contact me tab and email your address so that I can pass it along to Deb Shapiro and she will mail it to you. I promise to delete the email after sending it to her.

Leave a Reply

