Book Review, Uncategorized

With Malice Book Review*

*I was given a review copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley in return for a HONEST review

26153925
Goodreads
Author: Eileen Cook

Pages: 320

Published: June 7th 2016

Recommended If You Like: Thrillers, Mystery, Travel

I jumped at the chance to request this as soon as I read an excerpt from the Buzz Books 2016 Young Adult version for spring/summer. The reason I was so excited for this was because it reminded me of We Were Liars. I loved that book and have been looking for books that will give a similar reading experience ever since. I really thought that this was going to give me, but I’m not sure if it was quite what I was expecting.

The plot of this book is that Jill Charron wakes up in a hospital bed with no memory of the past month or so. Last she remembers, she was getting ready to go on a trip with a school program to Italy with her best friend Simone. However, she learns that she has already been to Italy, and something horrible happened and Jill may be to blame. Now with no memory, she must work to prove her innocence to her friends, family, and the whole world.

I love the lay out of this book as it’s a mystery/thriller unraveling before your eyes the entire book. It’s marketed towards people who enjoyed We Were Liars and The Girl on the Train to give you an idea of what it is like. I will say that it did keep me glued to it and that I breezed through this fairly quickly so I could figure out the ending. However, I didn’t feel like this was as thrilling as those books. It builds up slowly and sometimes it felt like it was dragging. I also don’t feel like it was as thought out as those books, and the plot twists weren’t as dramatic as I expected.

But, I really enjoyed it, and it’s a fun read. I like the format of the how we learn new evidence and information. There is excepts from a guide book, Facebook conversations, a blog, and police interviews. This made it a lot more interesting, and when they popped up I got excited and read faster because I know something new and important was about to be revealed. If you like mysteries and thrillers, and piecing things together to find out what happened, then this book is for you. I also loved the descriptions of Italy, and was a nice added bonus. And that cover!!! Wow, it’s just absolutely breathtaking. I feel like this will fly off the shelf just from people seeing the cover, they did an excellent job with it.

My Rating:

starstarstarstar_emptystar_empty

The reason I knocked off 2 stars is because I felt like the writing was a little underdeveloped and the ending, which is one that some will be completely satisfied with and love, while others will not.

Are looking forward to this being released? And let me know if you enjoy thrillers/mysteries. I’m just getting into the genre and I love it so far!

If you found this helpful please like, share, and follow to keep up to date ❤

 

Leave a Reply

