book review brains and beauty
Book Review

Outlander Review

This has been a long time coming. I actually bought this book over a year ago, but didn’t read it until it was chosen as the 1st book my book club wanted to read. I was excited to finally pick this up and discover what all the hype was about. It was quite what I was expecting, but it was definitely a crazy ride.

21532133
Source: Goodreads

I have to admit that I went into this having no idea what his story was about. So imagine my surprise when I discovered it included time travel. but I have to say that was one of my favorite parts about this book; it was something different. I don’t think I have read anything similar to this.

Although this is a very long, detailed book I fell in love it and the characters, particularly Jamie. The world the Diana creates is so rich and full of history and culture, that once you pick it up you leave your world completely and are immersed in hers. Not many books can make me feel so attached to it, but that’s how i felt reading it and there for was always looking for way to drop everything and get back to reading it.

The main characters are Claire and Jamie. Since I want this to be spoiler free I won’t go into much detail about them except how I felt about them. While I liked Claire, I couldn’t relate to her very well. I felt like she was a little too detached and was all to easy able to adapt to the time change and her surroundings. As for Jamie, he may be my new favorite fictional character. He has a very well rounded personality, and is someone you who can really root for and rally for. He’s also very funny and charming. The antagonist is Captain Jack Randall and may be one of the evil characters ever written. If you have a faint heart, or are easily offended, I don’t recommend you read this. It does have torture and rape, and may be a bit much for some people, so i feel it’s only fair you be warned because I was not.

If you haven’t read this yet, I truly recommend that you do, I think this will soon be considered a classic. If you’ve seen this book and it looks a little daunting to you, Starz has made into a show and I have to say it is one the best book adaptions I have ever seen. They keep it very close to the book and the acting and scenery in fantastic. Even my husband couldn’t get enough. Plus, the new season which is the second book, premieres this month, April 9th.

Rating:

starstarstarstarstar_empty

I took off one star due to some of the graphic depictions, which I felt were a little hard to read and the extreme amount of sex, which got eye roll worthy towards the end due to how often it happened.

Have you read this book or series yet? What are your thoughts on it?

If you enjoyed this please like, share, and follow ❤

 

 

Leave a Reply

