book review brains and beauty
Book Review

Finding Fraser-An Outlander Inspired Adventure*

This book has everything going for it: travel, adventure, Outlander references, humor, and romance. However, while I enjoyed this book, something seemed to miss the mark. Don’t panic yet, I’m not saying it isn’t worth a read, even Diana Gabaldon gave her stamp of approval, but I did have some big issues with it.

And a fair warning that I did not receive: this book contains slight spoilers for the whole Outlander series, not just the 1st book. I did not know this going in and as I had just started reading the 2nd book I did unfortunately see some future spoilers. But they were small and I was able to skip over most of them.

29355193
Click for Goodreads

I wanted to love this book so bad, I really did. I kept reading and reading, but in the end it just didn’t grab me. The story follows a woman as she turns 29 and has just been broken up with. Since she has just been fired from her job, she decides to sell everything and head off to Scotland to find her favorite fictional character, Jamie faster from Outlander. The minute I read the description I thought there was no way I wouldn’t like it. And while it was fun, it was also underdeveloped. I felt like the characters were cartoon-ish and unrealistic.

I love Outlander, but what I was really excited about with this story is that she travels through out Scotland. I love travel and adventure books and was excited to visit Scotland vicariously through Emma, the main character. But after finishing the book, I still feel as if I don’t have a good picture of the country. She visits cool places, but the reader never gets a good idea of them and the visits don’t last long. It’s the same with the characters she meets. They’re there for a couple pages then gone. Or their names show up for a sentence or so once in a while.

My last complaint is with Emma herself, I just couldn’t relate to her. Although she is nearly 30, she comes of as a teenager. She felt naive to a fault and I almost couldn’t feel bad for her when something happened, because I could see it coming a mile away, but she couldn’t.

In the end, while it was predictable in some parts and Emma was hard for to relate to personally, It’s still a fun story. It was funny, made me want to travel, and was a light, quick read perfect for the reading on the beach or by the pool this summer. Outlander fans will still want to give this a try, it was written for us after all 🙂

My Rating:

starstarstar_emptystar_emptystar_empty

Liked this review? Click the button on the right of the screen and follow to see future posts ❤

Want more? Links to my social media are linked in the menu above!

*I received a review copy of this book from the publisher in return for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions stated above are my own.

Leave a Reply

