Book Review

The Acrylic Painter Book Review*

I was lucky enough to grow up with an amazing and very creative grandmother. When I was a teenager she began to paint as a side job and would create custom paintings for clients. I have always been a creative person and was kind enough to nurture my talents and taught me some painting techniques in her studio. I was pretty decent and loved painting but as I got older I had less time to do so plus had settled on the thought that I wouldn’t make money with it so eventually I stopped. Then very recently I began to think about painting on the side to make some money myself, like my grandma had done in the past. About a month ago I created a test painting and was surprised to see that I hadn’t lost all of my creativity and skills. However, I know that to continue on a semi-regular basis I need to really brush up on my understanding of acrylic painting.

fullsizerender

So I was very excited when I came across this book, talk about perfect timing! When this arrived in the mail I immediately ripped it open and began to look through all the pages. There is so much information packed into it, and I learned a lot that I didn’t learn when I was younger. This is also perfect for someone who had never picked up a paint brush before. The author begins by showing you all the equipment that’s out there what what works best for the aesthetics that you want to achieve. Then it goes into the different types of painting and how to achieve different looks and how to take care of your painting once you are finished. There are also a lot of beautiful photos through out to help you along the way and also inspire your imagination.

I would completely recommend this for anyone just begging to use acrylics or for those who want to expand on their knowledge on the medium. It was a lot of fun to learn about the the different techniques and tips to create beautiful paintings. I will continue to use this as a go to as I begin painting more to improve myself.

fullsizerender1

Do you paint as well? Whats you’re favorite medium to create with? Do you continue to read books on art to brush up your skills? Let me know in the comments!

And if you enjoyed this don’t forget to like, share, and follow ❤

*I received a review copy of this book through Blogging For Books in return for a HONEST review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in the post are my own.

Leave a Reply

